The Nelson House is a Queen Anne cottage built in 1899 by a locally prominent mercantile family. The center-hall cottage displays the picturesque quality associated with the Queen Anne style, as well as the regional influence of a wraparound gallery.
John C. Nelson acquired this site in 1899 and built the present house. Founded in 1878 by John Nelson’s father, Christian Nelson, as a shoe shop, it rapidly grew to include “dry goods, notions, ladies and gents furnishings, fancy goods, hats, caps, umbrellas and a fine assortment of ladies, gents and children’s shoes,” as well as furniture. It was one of Scranton’s largest businesses. John Nelson also served on Pascagoula’s city council. The Nelson family retained the house until 1903, when it was sold to Mrs. Catherine F. Peterson. In 1918, Mary E. Nelson acquired the house, and it remained in the Nelson family until 1964 when Jennie Ruth Davis purchased it.
The cottage is architecturally significant for its association with noted businessman John C. Nelson; for its association with the socio-economic impact that commerce had on the area; and as an excellent example of an intact middle-class house of the late 1890s.
Address: 2434 Pascagoula St
Accessibility: Private residence-not open to walk-ins; can be viewed from vehicle/road